About CBM

Late Sh. Inder Lal Batra (Founder President)
Chandigarh Beopar Mandal is the sole registered Apex Body of Traders of the city beautiful. This is a non political welfare Body founded in the year 1992 by a group of eleven trader leaders of Chandigarh led by Late Shri Inder Lal Batra prominent whole sale cloth merchant. It constitutes representatives from various trader & market Welfare Associations of different sectors. Only a president or representative nominated by the President & General Secretary of each associations duly approved by the screening committee as per constitution of the Mandal is enrolled as the members of this trader Body.

Chandigarh Beopar Mandal now has 256 Prominent Traders representing approx. 55 markets & Traders Associations of Chandigarh as their representative who constitute the General House. Elections are held every two years for the post of President by voting amongst all the members. S. Charanjiv Singh is presently President of The Chandigarh Beopar Mandal for the year 2007-2008 as per unanimous decision of the General House at the time of last elections.
The Aims and Objectives of Chandigarh Beopar Mandal is welfare of the traditional Markets and the traders of the city with a good liaison with Chandigarh Administration , Municipal Corporation & other Department for achieving growth of business by ensuring satisfaction of the consumer.
Chandigarh Beopar Mandal is also associated with many Charitable works and has been a very significant contributor towards relief during National Calamities. Recently a blood donation Camp was organized successfully on dated 23.3.2007.
The Mandal is affiliated with all India Udyog Beopar Mandal in Delhi where national issues are taken up at the centre. Chandigarh Beopar Mandal has constituted 15 various committees for different issues like building byelaws, Sales Tax etc. and meetings are held regularly of those committees, Executive Body and General House with duly maintained records of each meeting.
This year Chandigarh Beopar Mandal is launching its own website and also holding many seminars of experts in the fields of taxation, Security, Beautification of shops and Marketing etc. to strengthen the conventional retailers and traditional Markets for competing with upcoming Retailing by Global & Indian Corporate.

Roll of Presidents till date:-
– 1992 – March 2001 Late Sh. Inder Lal Batra (Founder)
Mar 2001 – Jan 2002 Sh. Parshotam Mahajan
Jan 2002 – Feb 2006 Sh. Jagdish Arora
Feb 2006 – Feb 2007 Sh. Subhash Sethi
Feb 2007 – Feb 2010 Sh. Charanjiv Singh
Feb 2010 – Feb 2012 Sh. Diwakar Sahoonja
March 2012 – April 2016 S. Charanjiv Singh

April 2016 onward Sh. Anil Vohra

Roll of Chairman till date :
1992 Sh. Joginder Singh Sahni (Founder)
2004 Sh. M.P. Kohli
2010 Sh. Charanjiv Singh
2012 Sh. Satpal Gupta
2016 S. Charanjiv Singh